Who is Your Master?

Have you ever asked God for something really really important.
You start behaving well because you think with good behaviour God will see things your way. You think okay God I am going to follow the rules that I know you have set previously and I am going to sit and behave because I have put all my hope in receiving this thing I have asked you to give me…….

Now its been a couple of months of good behaviour, or if you are in my shoes you already behaved badly but you decided to try and follow the rules this time hoping God would give you the answer that you have been looking for. In all honesty you go into this with the mindset of not getting the answer that God wants but the yes answer you were looking for. You ask God to let his will be done but ultimately you submit to your hearts desires at every turn. You begin to fool yourself into believing that you are seeking the master of your life when in reality you consult God already knowing your design. You ask him as a way to ease your guilt because you never planned to listen.

You have somehow allowed your heart to be your master!

But having convinced yourself otherwise. Having fooled yourself. You continue to ask God questions you know you aren’t ready to listen to. Then we think OH NO!! God has gone silent!!

You start dropping the word back onto God because though you are asking God about this thing,  your heart has become your master.

So you start with…..

 Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

Mathew 7:7

Then….

Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.

Luke 6:38

So you start dropping lines expecting God to do something you aren’t really ready to receive.

Well recently I have desired this thing. I have desired it above all other things. Even though I came to God with a lot of questions and really seeking an answer from him at first. Eventually I stopped listening, or I let my heart become my master. Sitting in prayer and having God reveal to you that you have allowed your heart to control you is a hard blow to receive. It slaps you across the face to hear God let you know he is no longer the master of your life. Having let my desires and emotions rule my decisions was a painful revelation to receive.

  The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?

Jeremiah 17:9  

Turns out sometimes we don’t even know our hearts, we think we are coming to God in the right frame of mind but we fail to check our motives. We fail to see our true perspective. When you are asking God for an answer, sit back and ask yourself where this is coming from. To make sure you are truly asking God and actually listening for an answer from him.

Slowly after that revelation I realized I need to do better. That I need to come to a place where I had opened myself up to receive from God. Where I came to the right mind and stopped allowing my heart to lead me.

So tonight, this moment, right as you read this ask Holy Spirit to reveal your motives to you. To open your mind and your eyes to really see where you are coming from. To really check how you come before God. To truly die to yourself and your desires as you ask God to lead the way. To submit to His authority on your life. To submit and obey to His will.

Leave a comment